We're delighted that two of our local MSPs have lodged motions in the Scottish Parliament about the Burgh Halls this week:

*S3M-7482 Bob Doris: Maryhill Burgh Halls Urban Regeneration Award—That the Parliament is delighted that Glasgow’s Maryhill Burgh Halls won the award for Category 5, Best contribution to Urban Regeneration in Scotland through the use of European Structural Funds at the European Structural Funds Best Practice Awards at the Glasgow School of Art on 23 November 2010; considers that this prestigious award was hard won by the Maryhill Burgh Halls Trust in recognition of its work in leading an inspirational community-focussed project; notes that the £9.2 million renovation project is half way toward completion and considers that it will see the 132-year-old structure being brought back from the brink of ruin to become one of Glasgow’s most prized community assets, comprising offices, café, public hall, recording studio, children’s nursery, meeting rooms and courtyard garden, and looks forward to the completion of the project in the summer of 2011.

*S3M-7480 Patricia Ferguson: European Award for Maryhill Burgh Halls—That the Parliament notes that what is considered Maryhill’s historic Burgh Halls has won the award for Best Contribution to Urban Regeneration in Scotland through the use of European Structural Funds in the 2007 to 2013 programme; notes that this award recognises the Maryhill Burgh Halls Trust’s work in involving the community throughout the project and undertaking significant ongoing outreach work with local organisations and the best practice for bringing together sensitive historic building restoration with dynamic contemporary design and new outdoor spaces; believes that the refurbishment of the halls, which is scheduled for completion in the summer of 2011, will play a significant role in the ongoing regeneration of the communities of Maryhill, and congratulates all those who have played a part in bringing what it considers this important building back to life.
Supported by: Jackie Baillie*, David Stewart*, Bill Butler*, Charlie Gordon*, Hugh Henry*, Des McNulty*, Marilyn Livingstone*, Trish Godman*, Karen Gillon*
More details at: